• Media Release

New figures reveal that Newcastle schools will get a $19.4 million funding injection from 2020 if Labor wins the upcoming Federal election.

New figures reveal that Newcastle schools will get a $19.4 million funding injection from 2020 if Labor wins the upcoming Federal election. [See below for full school-by-school list of funding increases.]

Federal Member for Newcastle Sharon Claydon MP said every student in every public school in Newcastle will be better off under Labor’s commitment to invest an extra $14.5 billion in Australia’s public schools.

“Newcastle public schools will receive an average increase of $450,000 each over three years,” Ms Claydon said.

“Parents and teachers can find out how much extra funding their school will receive at www.fairgoforschools.com.au.”

Ms Claydon said the funding would restore cuts made by the Federal Government when Scott Morrison was Treasurer.

“The Federal Government abandoned signed contracts with the New South Wales Government. This has resulted in $14.5 million worth of cuts to Newcastle schools over 2017 and 2018 alone,” Ms Claydon said.

“These cuts have meant fewer teachers, less individual attention and less support to help kids achieve their potential.”

Ms Claydon said Labor could afford to make the investment in public schools  because of decisions to scale back excessive tax concessions that largely benefit wealthy Australians.

“Labor has chosen to close a number of tax loopholes so we can afford to invest in the schools, hospitals and public services that benefit all Australians,” Ms Claydon said.

“While the Government is backing in tax breaks for the wealthy, Labor is investing in our children and our future prosperity.”


School Name

Extra Funding (Three Years from 2020)

Callaghan College Wallsend Campus


Newcastle High School


Kotara High School


Lambton High School


Hunter School of the Performing Arts


Merewether High School


Callaghan College Jesmond Campus


Callaghan College Waratah Technology Campus


The Junction Public School


Glendore Public School


New Lambton Public School


Wallsend South Public School


Maryland Public School


Belair Public School


Hamilton South Public School


New Lambton South Public School


Waratah Public School


Lambton Public School


Mayfield West Public School


Elermore Vale Public School


Adamstown Public School


Wallsend Public School


Shortland Public School


Merewether Heights Public School


Plattsburg Public School


Tighes Hill Public School


Kotara South Public School


Hamilton Public School


Stockton Public School


Mayfield East Public School


Newcastle Senior School


Heaton Public School


Jesmond Public School


Newcastle East Public School


Merewether Public School


Islington Public School


Hamilton North Public School


Newcastle Middle School


Waratah West Public School


Carrington Public School


Minmi Public School


Kotara School


New Lambton Heights Infants School


Electorate Total



Share this article with your friends    

Liquid syntax error: Error in tag 'subpage' - No such page slug join